Our Board


Joe Gorman

Joe has almost three decades of experience in the mushroom industry as a primary producer and as a marketer of mushrooms through CMP PO. Joe was originally part of the Carbury Group and joined CMP after the acquisition of Carbury. Joe is passionate about the future and sustainability of primary producers. “I believe that the implementation of the Lean Continuous Improvement across the mushroom industry will transform the industry”. “The future success in our marketplace will be built on a platform of innovation and differentiation”.


Donal McCarthy

Donal joined CMP in October 2014 and is passionate about CMP becoming more Market & Grower contract focused. Donal is from Cork and has many years’ experience as a Senior Manager & Consultant in Food & Beverage Industry in Ireland, Netherlands & USA. He has worked for companies like Dairygold, Waterford Foods, Northern Foods and Bulmer’s and is results driven with a commercial focus.

“I am excited about joining the Mushroom Industry and am genuinely amazed at what has been achieved to date and I want to build on this as we progress on our forward journey.”


Tom Sweeney
Vice Chairman

Tom Sweeney started his mushroom production business in 1999 with 5 standard tunnels and built 3 large tunnels in 2005, in 2006 he raised his original 5 tunnels to the same standard and added an additional tunnel in 2010. He was a member of Tipperary Mushroom growers organisation. In addition to his mushroom business he runs a calf to beef farming enterprise and a funeral business. Tom is serving his first term as a director on the Board. He is married to Eleanor and they have 4 children and his main hobby is GAA.


Cathal Reilly

Cathal Reilly of Lakeside Mushrooms Ltd. began his farming career in 1997. He is particulary interested in innovation and currently has a pilot Heat Recovery Ventilation (HRV) system running on his farm. Cathal is serving his first term as a director on the Board elected in 2009 and is a curernt member of the Investment sub committee. He is married to Martina with six children (two boys and four girls), and his hobbies include GAA and reading.


Gerry Reilly
Board Member

Gerry Reilly is the elected secretary of the board of CMP and has been a member for two years. He was elected for a 3 year term in 2009. He is CMP’s delegate to ICOS, the umbrella organisation for co-operatives in Ireland. He also served on CMP Project committee in 2009. He started his family run business, Reilly Mushrooms Ltd., in 1988 with his wife Mary. Starting off with three standard sized tunnels, they expanded to seven tunnels within five years. Gerry’s son Kevin now oversees most of the operation, although his other three adult children have all spent time working on the farm too. Gerry and his wife like to take skiing holidays every year when their schedules allow.

james Hickey

James Hickey
Board Member

James Hickey is the owner of Jabre Ltd. and has been in the mushroom business for over ten years. He recently switched from white production to chestnut/brown production on his mushroom farm and he is also a cereal farmer. He is currently a member on the Investment sub committee. He and his wife Breda have five children, he likes to play golf in his spare time. He lives in Outroth, Cahir, Co. Tipperary.


Martin Heraghty
Board Member

Martin Heraghty served until 2013 as Assistant Secretary-General in the Irish Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine with specific responsibility for the development of the Irish food industry.

In a long career in the Department, Martin served in a wide range of positions including Head of Corporate Affairs, Head of both the Dairy and Beef Divisions, Press and Information Officer as well as Private Secretary to various Ministers. With extensive experience representing Ireland at EU level and internationally, he also served for five years as First Secretary (agricultural attaché) in the Irish Embassy in Germany. He has broad experience of trade development having participated in missions to countries such as the US, China, Russia, Iran, Turkey, Indonesia, Philippines and Singapore. He was also centrally involved in the management of the foot and mouth disease outbreak, the dioxin crisis and the horsemeat incident.

Martin was previously on the Board of Directors of Teagasc (the Irish Agriculture and Food Development Authority) and the Irish National Accreditation Board.


Sam Condell
Board Member

Sam Condell has worked in the mushroom industry from the early 1970′s.  He was a farm manager in Dudgeon Brothers for 18 years.  He went on to start his own business in 1985 with 2 tunnels and currently has 8 tunnels on dutch shelving.  He also runs a dry stock enterprise.  This is Sam’s second term as a director on the Board. He is married to Ann, a nurse, and they have 3 children.  His favourite hobby is watching various sports on TV.